关于Dave

在2010年的一个特别选举中,Marsden议员在弗吉尼亚参议院上获得了勤奋议员的美誉, 他一直努力的为Fairfax County 和联邦做了许多的事情。在他任职弗吉尼亚州参议院之前,他曾担任4年的弗吉尼亚议院代表。他从不怕涉及党派纷争,Marsden议员曾与民主党和共和党合作,通过立法以减轻交通拥堵和创造更多就业机会。他明白哪些问题能影响着我们的生活质量和家庭价值观- 像教育问题,建立强大的经济和缓解交通拥堵-他一直努力的为Fairfax County 和联邦服务。

作为北弗吉尼亚州的终身居民, 自1977年以来Dave Marsden与他的妻子Julia一直住在Burke。他们的三个儿子都在Burke长大。Dave于1966年在W.T.Woodson高中毕业, 而1970年毕业于Randolph-Macon 大学, 这时他开始了他在少年司法当感化主任的职业生涯, 并与Fairfax County少年司法和家庭关系法庭合作。 他接着在Fairfax County建立和经营庇护所让有 严重家庭问题 的青年提供住所提供, 后来被任命为第一个Fairfax County少年拘留中心的監督人。在Dave十七年的领导下,在该设施里从来都没有过罪人逃跑或严重的受伤。

Dave于1999年离开看守所成为立法助理为代表弗吉尼亚议院成员Jim Dillard。在2000年州长Jim Gilmore 任命他成为少年司法副主任管理2,700人的弗吉尼亚部门,然后代理主任。提供6个月的州长马克华纳的管理后,Dave加入了开发服务集团有限公司(DSG),管理着美国司法部的计划,帮助当地减少青年黑帮活动和暴力青少年犯罪。

Dave一直是活跃于当地的社区组织。他曾担任企业学院和West Lynch基金会的院长。除了在Braddock Road青年俱乐部(BRYC),他还执教篮球、橄榄球、和足球队。他还给Annandale-North Springfield Little League执教过棒球。

About Dave

Elected to the Virginia Senate in 2010 in a special election, Senator Marsden has earned a reputation as a hard working legislator who gets things done for Fairfax County and the Commonwealth. Before serving in the Virginia Senate, he served 4 years in the Virginia House of Delegates. Never afraid to put progress above partisanship, Senator Marsden has worked with Democrats and Republicans to pass legislation to relieve traffic congestion and create jobs. He understands how all the issues fit together to affect our quality of life and home values – issues like education, building a stronger economy, and easing traffic congestion – he’s working hard for Fairfax County and the Commonwealth.

A lifelong resident of Northern Virginia, Dave Marsden has lived in Burke since 1977 with his wife Julia. Burke is where they raised their three sons. Dave graduated From W.T. Woodson High School in 1966 and Randolph-Macon College in 1970, when he began a career in Juvenile Justice as a Probation Officer with the Fairfax County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court. He went on to establish and operate Fairfax County’s shelter home for youth with severe family problems and was later appointed as the first Superintendent of Fairfax County’s Juvenile Detention Center. Under Dave’s 17 years of leadership, there was never an escape or serious injury to residents at the facility.

Dave left the detention center in 1999 to become the Legislative Aide for Virginia House of Delegates member Jim Dillard. In 2000 Governor Jim Gilmore appointed him Chief Deputy and then Acting Director of the 2700 person Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice. After serving for 6 months in the administration of Governor Mark Warner, Dave joined Development Services Group, Inc. (DSG), where he now manages a U.S. Department of Justice program that helps localities reduce youth gang activity and violent youth crime.

Dave has long been active in local community organizations. He served as President of the Enterprise School and the West*Lynch Foundation, in addition to coaching basketball, football, and soccer with the Braddock Road Youth Club, (BRYC). He also coached baseball for the Annandale-North Springfield Little League.